--

My point wasn’t that “health reasons” specifically cause startups to fail. Toward the end I actually go out of my way to say I hope health reasons don’t impact others the way they impacted me.

The argument I’m making is that startups take a long time, and, because of that, unexpected life events will happen (both good and bad). Those unexpected life events will often impact what founders are able to commit to their startups and, as a result, their startups will fail.

In my case, the unexpected event was health related. But the same thing would surely happen if a founder won $100 million playing the lottery.

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com