Aaron Dinin, PhD
1 min readDec 1, 2020

--

I can accept your point about the problems with a narrow definition of entrepreneurship.

I’d push back a bit on your suggestion that this article is an academic notion of entrepreneurship. In my capacity as an “academic,” I’ve noticed we tend to be much more broad in our definition of what qualifies as entrepreneurship and who gets to be an entrepreneurs. When I get narrow in my definition, it’s usually when I’m speaking from my experiences as someone who’s built multiple VC-backed tech companies. That’s when I tend to (perhaps problematically) espouse arguments about how entrepreneurship is a full-time, 20-hours-per-day, all-or-nothing endeavor.

So, if anything, I’d argue my lack of empirical evidence points more toward the non-academic nature of my argument. After all, it’s academics who tend to insist on empirical evidence… =)

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com