--

Great question. Part of the reason I wrote this post is that, Increasingly, I find myself recognizing that the more an entrepreneur knows, the less likely they are to "pull the trigger" on a business. Simply put, they know all the things that can go wrong, and it prevents them from acting.

That's probably a bad thing (at least in terms of entrepreneurial innovation). We need people who are too naive to understand the odds because even the best entrepreneurs have all the odds stacked against them.

It's kind of like playing the lottery. The lottery is a great way of generating revenue for a municipality, but it comes at the expense of preying on people who are too naive to appreciate just what a bad idea it is to play the lottery.

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com