5 Common Pitch Deck Mistakes Founders Make that Annoy Investors

The quickest way to get rejected by investors is to make these kinds of stupid mistakes in your pitch.

Aaron Dinin, PhD
4 min readJun 22, 2023

--

I was judging a pitch competition for a neighboring university. The event was meant to be an informal “practice” session to help the students prepare for pitching venture capitalists. As a result, the person who’d invited me wanted me to give feedback on the pitches rather than the companies.

In other words, I was supposed to critique the structure of the presentations as opposed to any specific content. She wanted me to point out any issues in the pitch decks that might “annoy investors.”

Normally, at these kinds of things, I’m expected to give feedback on the startups themselves, so I appreciated an opportunity to focus only on the structure of the pitches and the slides.

I spent the next two hours listening to 15 pitches. A lot of the feedback I gave was specific to each pitch, but some of the problems seemed more common than others and spanned multiple decks. I’ve done my best to remember what they were, and I’ve shared a few of the bigger issues here in case they’re useful to all of you.

1. Starting with a question

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com